Fight or Flight

My strongest memory of heart pounding adrenaline and nervousness is from my freshmen year. I was 16 years old and was on my way to pick up a friend of mine to go shopping. I was about a mile down her gravel road and was running late (So i was probably going a little faster than I should have been) and I saw a deer right in the middle of the road. I swerved to miss it and I lost control. I fishtailed and nose dived into the ditch, my back end flipping over the front end.

I don’t remember a lot about how exactly I got out of the car, but I remember reaching for my phone and trying to call 911, but I had no service. I remember thinking to myself, “How long can a person survive hanging upside down.”

After my initial panic attack and freak out, I composed myself and started thinking rationally. I rolled down my window and I braced one hand up on the roof for all of my weight was resting on that hand. With the other one, I reached down and unbuckled my seatbelt. I know that somehow I fell onto the roof and crawled out, but I really don’t remember how that all happened. The next thing I knew I was standing on the shoulder of the road trying to call my dad. I called my dad, no answer. I called my mom, no answer. I called my house, no answer. So I called my friend, who was only 15 at the time, and she came and got me.

Later on, I had to go back to where it happened, and I had to talk to the police and give a statement and go over everything over and over and over. Which was frustrating because I honestly didn’t remember most of it. Over the next couple of days the details started coming back little by little, but there are still things that I don’t remember.

Now, every time I drive that road, I go a little slower and my heart pounds a little faster.

Daily Prompt

Leave a Reply

