We Built This City

I don’t really have a city or town. I live in the country. The nearest town is Alton. Technically I have an Alton address but the only time I am in Alton is to go to church or to visit my grandparents.

The next town over is Orange City, which I go to a lot. I work at the daycare there, and I go there to get groceries, go out to eat, go to a movie, get my hair cut, all of that jazz.

Then, I go to school in a town called Remsen, which is 20 minutes from my house. I spend a lot of time there. I am in school, I am in extracurriculars and most of my friends live there, so on the weekends that is usually where I am.

Aside from these three towns, before I went to school in Remsen, I went to school in a town called Granville, which is 15 minutes from my house. So that town is familiar to me too, and I have friends there too, so I spend time there every now and then too.

Also, my boyfriend goes to college in Sioux Center, which is a half hour away, so I spend a lot of time there too.

As you can see, I really don’t have a home town. It’s more like home TOWNS. I love things about each one of these small towns. My favorite being Orange City. It is a clean very nice looking town. The people are nice and there is almost everything you need right there. I has a lot of parks and a lot of walking trails and a beautiful golf course.

Orange City is a very Dutch town. All of the stores and businesses have Dutch looking buildings and there are windmills around town. I like this because I am Dutch.

If I had to choose one town to live in out of these 5 towns, if I had to pick one to live in for the rest of my life, it would be Orange City. However, I don’t really plan on it. Don’t get me wrong, I will always have my small town country roots, and I love dirt roads and tractors as much as the next farm girl, but I’m ready to branch out and go somewhere where I don’t know everyone by name and everyone doesn’t already know me and who my family is.

Daily Prompt

Leave a Reply

