Our Service Trip

Yesterday, our high school went on a service trip to Omaha, Nebraska. We took two buses over and split up into groups to go to different missions and do service work. The group I was in went to a place called Lydia House. It is a place for homeless and poverty stricken people to go. They can live in apartments provided to them and get help getting back on their feet and finding their way back from whatever problems they may be having.

While we were there we packed up food and handed it out to them as they came through a line. We also restocked their racks of clothing for people to take, and organized and restocked the toys that had been donated for the children.

This service work was very eye opening to me. The thing that struck me the most was how many children that were there. We learned that the average age of a homeless child is 9 years old. Not only that, but how often they were left unattended because their mom or dad had to go and get something or do somethinga and didn’t take them with. It made me worry that someone could go by and pick them up and their parents never would have known.

I have always enjoyed doing service work. Not only is it a way to give back to our community and to help others, but I always learn a little something about myself. There is a quote, by Mother Teresa that I think really sums it up.

“If you want to find yourself, lose yourself in serving others.”

I think that there is so much truth in that, and it is something that I want to try and live by as I grow older and make my own way in life. Doing service is very fulfilling work. Giving of your time, talents, and efforts to try and help better someone else’s life is one of the best ways you can spend your times.

Leave a Reply

